2022 Respect Cup

In a wonderful advertisement for women’s football the Sacred Heart Senior team fought out an exciting drawn game in the annual Respect Cup challenge against Loreto in Ballarat.

This event was launched in 2021 to help celebrate International Women’s Day and to promote Respectful relationships in the school and wider community, AFL teams from St Joseph’s College Geelong, St Patrick’s College Ballarat, Sacred Heart College Geelong & Loreto College Ballarat players take to the ground.

In an exciting afternoon of football the Joeys boys went down by two points (St Pats 2.12.24 def Joeys 3.4.22) in the curtain raiser followed by the entertaining and hard fought draw between the two female teams (5.4.34 apiece).

Co-Captain Mia Van Dyke was awarded the medal as best player afield for Sacred Heart and was ably supported by Mekah Morrissy, Kate Martin, Sophie Mahar and Tamykah Brown.

The game was played in wonderful spirit, with great skills and athleticism.

Sacred Heart was represented by 31 students ranging from Year 9 to Year 12 (Yr12 - 8, Yr11 - 11, Yr10 - 9, Yr9 - 3).

We look forward to the encounter again next year with game back in Geelong - hopefully played in front of a partisan crowd full of Sacred Heart students and staff at Kardinia Park.

SACRED HEART COLLEGE 0.1, 3.1, 5.3, 5.4 (34)
LORETO 1.0, 2.0, 4.3, 5.4 (34)
GOALS - Mekah Morrissy 2, Mako Payne 2, Mia Van Dyke 1.
BEST PLAYERS - Mia Van Dyke, Mekah Morrissy, Kate Martin, Sophie Mahar, Tamykah Brown, Ella Rayson, Mako Payne, Johanna Sunderland, Leila Owens.

SELECTED TEAM - Lila Burns, Mako Payne, Tamykah Brown, Johanna Sunderland, Imogen Castle, Kate Martin, Sophie Maher, Eliza Thiele, Ella Rayson, Tess De Grandi, Leila Owens, Mia Tucker, Eve Davalga, Allegra Lloyd, Lila Richard, Heike Paape-Silva, Mia Van Dyke, Mekah Morrissy, Elara Dillon, Matilda Kidd, Isabelle Korth, Alyssa Bolger, Eve Cannon, Mary Rolfe, Mia Barnard, Georgia Delaney, Madison Dalziel, Hannah Glover, Tara Trethowan Sachi Henderson & Sienna Carlini.

STUDENT LEADERS - Grace Williamson & Lulu Higgins

STAFF - Bianca Cheever, Anthony Petkovic, Josh Todd, Marcelle Korth, Megan Den Dryver & Michelle Abbott

Contact us